Guidelines for the 2020 Balocating Undergraduate Prize for Poetry:

  • Open to MSU undergraduate students in any major
  • Prize awarded for a single poem
  • Submit up to three poems
  • Provide a separate cover sheet including: your name, email, and phone number
  • Poems must not identify you as the writer
  • Cover sheet and poems may be combined into one pdf
  • Submissions to:
  • Deadline: Sunday, March 22, 2020

About final judge Marilyn Nelson:

Marilyn Nelson is the author or translator of seventeen poetry books and the memoir How I Discovered Poetry. She is also the author of The Fields Of Praise: New And Selected Poems, which won the 1998 Poets’ Prize, Carver: A Life In Poems, which won the 2001 Boston Globe/Hornbook Award and the Flora Stieglitz Straus Award, and Fortune’s Bones, which was a Coretta Scott King Honor Book and won the Lion and the Unicorn Award for Excellence in North American Poetry. Nelson’s honors include two NEA creative writing fellowships, the 1990 Connecticut Arts Award, a Fulbright Teaching Fellowship, a fellowship from the J.S. Guggenheim Memorial Foundation, and the Frost Medal. She was the Poet Laureate of the State of Connecticut from 2001-2006.

For a copy of the flyer, click here.