Guidelines: Emerging Call for Entries

The RCAH Center for Poetry at Michigan State University, in cooperation with the MSU Press, announces reading dates annually for the Wheelbarrow Books (emerging) Poetry Prize. The winner will receive $1,000 and publication within two years of selection under the Wheelbarrow Books imprint.

The submission period is from mid-December through February 1.

The final judge will be a member of the Wheelbarrow Books Editorial Board and will be announced in January.



  • Manuscripts are eligible for the Wheelbarrow Books Poetry Prize if the author has not yet published a collection of original poetry. Translations are not eligible.
  • Current faculty, staff, and students of Michigan State University are not eligible to submit their work.
  • Multiple submissions are welcome and simultaneous submissions are acceptable (please inform us if the manuscript is accepted elsewhere).
  • The Center for Poetry in the Residential College in the Arts and Humanities at MSU reserves the right to consider all entrants for publication; a list of winners and finalists will be posted on the Center for Poetry website ( in June after the winning author is notified.
  • Publication is contingent upon the poet’s agreeing to the terms of the publishing agreement.


Rules and Submission Guidelines

  • Manuscripts must be in English and a minimum 64 pages.
  • Manuscripts must be typed in a 12-point font.
  • Manuscripts must be submitted as a PDF file.
  • Submitted poems may have appeared previously in journals, anthologies, or chapbooks, but the collection as a whole must be previously unpublished.
  • Manuscripts will be accepted between December 15, 2020 and February 1, 2021. Early submissions are encouraged.
  • Include the nonrefundable reading fee of $25 with your submission. Submissions received without this fee will not be accepted or considered.


Click here to submit via Submittable